Are You Working Out For The Wrong Reasons?

Work out Beacuse You Love Yourself _ Are You Working Out For The Wrong Reasons

Contrary to popular belief, you CAN love training hard and eating well alongside having a healthy relationship with food and loving your body. Exercise and eating well are often related to wanting to lose weight and change your body due to being uncomfortable or unhappy as you are. However, for me and many others, that’s not the case and instead fitness has taught me HOW to love my body and made me realise what I was truly capable of, and I now work out and eat well BECAUSE I love my body.

The truth is by comparing yourself to others and having a negative mind set around the gym you won’t ever get the results you want or be satisfied. This could be due to many reasons such as; the cortisol (stress hormone) your body is producing by being unhappy within yourself, having a negative body image so even when you look amazing you won’t be able to see it yourself, or having low motivation because you feel you will never be  happy with your body. You will also be setting yourself up for disappointment because you’re doing it for all the wrong reasons.

By adopting and changing this mind set you will begin to see your hard-earned results, love your body and want to work out because of that. If you allow your goals and motivation to come from a place of self-love you will stop judging yourself, comparing yourself and start being kind to yourself and that’s when you will find happiness within yourself, as well as a healthy lifestyle you can stick to.

Instead of saying, “I want to work out because I hate my body”, say “I want to work out because I want to… improve my health, gain more confidence, or be strong!”

physcological benefits of strength training weight lifting - self love strong 6

Here are some positive reasons to work out because you love your body:

Confidence

Before I began my fitness journey, I was a very shy girl with little to no confidence, in particularly body confidence. Through training and lifting weights, I have realised what my body is capable off and it is so much more than I would have thought possible. This has significantly increased my confidence and I now love my body for all that she is capable for.

Happiness

After a good workout, I feel amazing! When exercising your body releases happy hormones, known as endorphins, which help to relieve stress and give you an uplifting sensation. I usually work out first thing in a morning and this puts me in a good mood for the day, setting me up for the day ahead!

Strength

Getting stronger is something I heavily focus on in my training as I find lifting weights is so empowering. Seeing the weights go up week by week is liberating and shows you what your body is truly capable of! Although fitness doesn’t just make you physically stronger, I have found I am so much stronger mentally too because of the confidence that training gives me.

De-Stress

Fitness and going to the gym is one thing I try and keep as my routine under any circumstance. Even during the end of my deadlines at university, I ensured I would go and train most days before classes, this would give me a set time each day where I wasn’t thinking about work or any stressful situations instead I was taking time out to focus on myself, which is very important.

Sleeping Beauty

One thing I have noticed that has improved since starting my fitness journey is my sleep! No more restless nights or insomnia, now you’d be lucky to catch me awake after 10pm and by 9pm I’m usually snuggled up in my PJs. Exercising will tire you out and although during the day you might feel your energy levels are increased due to the endorphins, your body takes full advantage of your sleep time to rest and recover!

Enjoying LIFE

By changing your mindset around working out to being a more positive and uplifting one, you will notice a vast change in not only your workouts but also your life. I used to make these ridiculous promises to myself: like I wouldn’t do ‘x’ until I had visible abs, or I wouldn’t wear a bikini on holiday until I was my goal weight. By the end of it all, the only things I could do was stay inside and be miserable. Goals like this are unrealistic, damaging and the worst possible thing you could do to yourself. The sooner you say goodbye to what you can’t do and start thinking of what you can do you will begin to live and enjoying your life.

Therefore, when done for the right reasons, strength and weight training will not only give you a HOT body it will also improve your confidence, happiness, sleep and LIFE! What more of a reason do you need to get down the gym and pick up some weights!

Work Out Because You Love Yourself- Are You Working Out For The Right Reasons

 

Posted by

Health, Fitness & Lifestyle Blog. Promoting self love, self acceptance and happiness!💕

One thought on “Are You Working Out For The Wrong Reasons?

Leave a Reply

